Chakra Basics 101

Chakra Basics 101

What is a Chakra?

In Sanskrit the word Chakra (Sankrit spelling:Cakra) means “wheel” or “vortex”. A Chakra is an energy “wheel” or “vortex” that is located in specific areas of your astral (subtle) body. A Chakra is also referred to as an energy center in which the Kundalini force rises through.

How far back does the Chakra system go?

The word Chakra is said to originate from the invasion of India by the Aryans, an Indo-European tribe, in the second millennium BCE. The Aryans road into India on Chariot Wheels – hence the chakra definition being “wheel”. Following this, mention of the chakra system can be found in oldest ancient texts of Hinduism - the Vedas (2000-600 BCE) and the Yoga Sutras (200 CE). Following the Vedas, teachings on chakras can also be found in the Yoga Upanishads (600 BCE) and in the Yoga Sutras of Patanjali (BCE 200).

The Chakra System

There are seven chakras in The Chakra System – Root, Sacral, Solar Plexus, Heart, Throat, Third-Eye and Crown. The seven chakras correspond to the seven notes found on a musical scale – C (Root), D(Sacral), E(Solar Plexus), F(Heart), G(Throat), A (Third Eye), B (Crown). And depending on who you ask they also line up pretty close to the frequencies of those notes. Each of the seven chakras also have corresponding colors, red for the Root, orange for Sacral, yellow for Solar Plexus, pink/green for the Heart, blue for the Throat, purple for the Third Eye and white/clear for the Crown.

The best description I’ve come across of the Chakra System is by Anodea Judith:

               “Chakras are organizing centers for the reception, assimilation, and transmission of life energies. Our chakras, as core centers, form the coordinating network of our complicated mind/body system. From instinctual behavior to consciously planned strategies, from emotions to artistic creations, the chakras are the master programs that govern our life, loves, learning and illumination. As seven vibratory modalities, the chakras form a mythical Rainbow Bridge, a connecting channel linking Heaven and Earth, mind and body, spirit and matter, past and future”

Below you’ll find an image that shows the location of the Chakras, and a table that gives you more information on which crystals and stones work best for Chakra meditations.

 Chakra system

(Figure 5.4., page 248 from The Subtle Body: An Encyclopedia of Your Energetic Anatomy)


Red, Brown
Foundation, survival, security
I am grounded.
Tourmaline, carnelian, garnet, hematite
Sex organs/adrenals
Sexuality, procreation, fertility
I have a healthy sex life.
Orange citrine, moonstone
Solar Plexus
Power, confidence, strong will, humor
I am confident.
Topaz, citrine, Tiger’s eye
Pink, Green
Love, empathy, compassion, relationships
My invite love into my life.
Rose quarts, green calcite, jade
Communication, expression, truth
I speak with purpose.
Kyanite, Turquoise
3rd Eye
Creativity, intuition, intelligence, vision
I am focused and present.
Intuition, spirituality, clairvoyance, wisdom
Energy flows through me easily.
Clear Quartz, Amethyst


Do Chakra’s really exist?

Yes. Besides the millions of people who can feel their auric energy and that of others there’s actual science to support its existence. Dr. Motoyama of California Institute for Human Science built a machine, AMI (Apparatus for Meridian Identification) that can measure your “Ki” energy and show which Chakra is most active/inactive. You can read more about Dr.Motoyama and his study here. The Chakra System does exist and just because it is not “physically” located anywhere that we can see with the naked eye it still exists. Many agree that it works as a system that funnels energy into your physical body and outward to your subtle body.

Cyndi Dale wrote in her book The Subtle Body: An Encyclopedia of Your Energetic Anatomy:

“One of the foremost questions is this: If the chakras are there, and vibrating in these color frequencies, why are we unable to perceive the colors with our physical eyes? Our brain waves usually oscillate between 0 and 100 cycles per second (or Hz). Chakras vibrate in a band between 100 and 1,600 Hz. This means that our brains are simply not trained to perceive oscillations or frequencies as high as those that the chakras regulate.”

We can feel the energy flowing through our bodies and we can feel those of others too. Have you ever felt someone’s energy upon meeting them? Of course you have. Feeling is believing.



The Subtle Body: An Encyclopedia of Your Energetic Anatomy by Cyndi Dale

Wheels of Life: A User's Guide to the Chakra System by Anodea Judith

How to cleanse your crystals

How to cleanse your crystals

Smudging Rituals: How to clear away negative energy

Smudging Rituals: How to clear away negative energy